Our Planning Partners


Fundamental building blocks are needed to launch a successful, long-term, preterm birth research effort at UCSF. The approach we take leverages decades of experience across our campuses in creating centers that have effectively catalyzed research, engaged with the community in a meaningful way, trained future scientists, disseminated knowledge to a broad range of stakeholders, and increased the visibility of pressing health issues associated with prematurity.

Our year long Planning Phase united hundreds of individuals, harnessing the talent of transdisciplinary scientific, clinical, and community expertise to collaboratively tackle the burden of prematurity.


Planning Partners

  • UCSF Benioff Children's Hospitals in San Francisco and Oakland
  • UCSF Department of Epidemiology & Biostatistics
  • UCSF Department of Family Health Care Nursing
  • UCSF Department of Family & Community Medicine
  • UCSF Department of Obstetrics, Gynecology and Reproductive Health
  • UCSF Department of Pediatrics
  • UCSF Department of Psychiatry
  • UCSF Health Psychology Program
  • Phillip R. Lee Institute for Health Policy Studies
  • California State University, Fresno
  • Makerere University, Uganda
  • Kenya Medical Research Institute, Kenya
  • National University of Rwanda, Rwanda
  • Homeless Prenatal Program, San Francisco


Planning Team

Executive Leadership

  • Larry Rand, MD | Co-Director
  • Jaime Sepulveda, MD, MPH, MSc, DrSc | Co-Director
  • Colin Boyle, MBA, MPP | Interim Project Director, PTBi and Deputy Director, Global Health Sciences

Transdisciplinary Council

  • Curtis Chan, MD, MPH | Deputy Director and Lead Facilitator Local Implementation
  • Craig Cohen, MD, MPH | Deputy Director Discovery
  • Linda Franck, RN, PhD, FRCPCH, FAAN | Deputy Director Knowledge Exchange
  • Miriam Kuppermann, PhD, MPH | Deputy Director Discovery
  • Mary Norton, MD | Deputy Director Local Implementation
  • Roger Myrick, PhD | MLE Director
  • George Rutherford, MD, MA, FAAP, FACPM, FIDSA | MLE Advisor
  • Dilys Walker, MD | Deputy Director Global Implementation
  • Gavin Yamey, MD, MPH, MA, MRCP | Deputy Director Knowledge Exchange
  • Nancy Adler, PhD | Lead Facilitator and Internal Advisory Committee Member
  • Claire Brindis, PhD | Lead Facilitator Knowledge Exchange
  • Eric Goosby, MD | Lead Facilitator Global Implementation
  • Wylie Liu, MPH, MPA | Community Partnerships Liaison
  • Michael Reyes, MD, MPH | Lead Facilitator Knowledge Exchange
  • David Rowitch, MD, PhD | Lead Facilitator Discovery

Academic Coordinators

  • Elizabeth Butrick, MPH, MSW, Implementation Local/Global
  • Anke Hemmerling, MD, PhD, MPH, Discovery
  • Hacsi Horváth, MA, Knowledge Transfer and Exchange
  • Nicole Santos, PhD, MS, Clinical Cohort Exploration

Operations and Finance

  • Amanda Marr Chung, MPH | Senior Research Program Coordinator
  • Hannah Park | Director of Operations

New Minds, New Ideas

  • Jonathan Fuchs, MD, MPH | Director, Center for Learning and Innovation, San Francisco Department of Public Health, and Associate Professor of Clinical Medicine
  • Monica Gandhi, MD, MPH | Professor of Medicine, HIV/AIDS Division


External Advisory Committee

  • Vincenzo Berghella, MD | Professor of Obstetrics and Gynecology, Jefferson Medical College, Thomas Jefferson University
  • Zulfiqar A. Bhutta, MD, PhD | Robert Harding Inaugural Chair in Global Health, Hospital for Sick Children, Toronto; Founding Chair of the Division of Women and Child Health at The Aga Khan University, Pakistan
  • Alex Coutinho, MB ChB, MSc, Dip. PEC, DTM&H, DPH, DHSM, MPH, FRCP | Executive Director of the Infectious Diseases Institute of Makerere University, Uganda
  • Sandra R. Hernández, MD | CEO of the California HealthCare Foundation
  • Jennifer Howse, PhD | President of the March of Dimes Foundation
  • Joy Lawn, B MedSci, MB BS, MPH, PhD, FRCPCH | Professor of Maternal, Reproductive and Child Health and Director of the MARCH Centre at London School of Hygiene & Tropical Medicine
  • Marleen Temmerman, MD | Director of the Department of Reproductive Health and Research at the World Health Organization


Internal Advisory Committee

  • Nancy Adler, PhD | Vice-Chair of the Department of Psychiatry and Director of the Center for Health and Community
  • Jennifer Arnett | Associate Vice Chancellor University Development and Alumni Relations
  • Donna Ferriero, MD | Chair Department of Pediatrics
  • Linda Giudice, MD, PhD, MSc | Distinguished Professor and Chair Department of Obstetrics, Gynecology and Reproductive Sciences
  • Michael McCune, MD, PhD | Professor & Chief Division of Experimental Medicine
  • Renee Navarro, MD | Vice Chancellor Diversity and Outreach
  • David Vlahov, RN, PhD, FAAN | Dean School of Nursing
  • Paul Volberding, MD | Director of the Center for AIDS Research and Professor of Medicine